Canadian Musician


Polaris Music Prize Gala Being Streamed Tonight

September 22nd, 2014

bannerTonight, the winner of the 2014 Polaris Music Prize will be announced.  The gala is at The Carlu in Toronto and will be hosted by actor Jay Baruchel.  The event will be webcast live at 8 p.m. ET on via YouTube (go to the live stream HERE) and audio broadcast live on SiriusXM’s Iceberg (Sirius 161) and The Verge (XM 173).  Performers include Short List nominees Basia Bulat, Jessy Lanza, Mac DeMarco, Owen Pallett, Shad, and Tanya Tagaq. Members of Arcade Fire, Timber Timbre, and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN will be also in attendance for the ninth annual gala. The gala webcast and radio broadcasts start with their pre-shows at 7 p.m. ET.

Read the rest of this entry »

MusicOntario Announces Fall Season Panels & Workshops

September 19th, 2014

music ontarioMusicOntario has announced a series of panels and workshops for this fall in Toronto, Guelph, Kingston, and Mississauga.

Royalties, Rights & Revenues: Let’s Get Ready to Rumble!
September 23, 2014, 12-1pm
Silver Flex Studio, Artscape Youngplace – 180 Shaw St.

For most musicians, the complex world of music rights, royalty rates, copyright laws and the roles of the various collective bodies is tricky to make sense of and apply to one’s own situation. In this session, we will discuss how various organizations work to collect money owed to artists, as well Tariff 8 – a current hot-button issue affecting all Canadian music creators.

Richard Pfohl (Music Canada)
Julia Train (MROC)
Melanie Hubbard (Re:Sound)

Members: $5
Non-members: $10
*Lunch included

Read the rest of this entry »

Canadian Unsigned Only Competition Winners

September 19th, 2014

UO logoThe winners of the 2014 Unsigned Only global competition have been announced and Canadian artists have fared very well. Unsigned Only is a music competition designed for solo artists, bands, and singers all over the world who are not signed to a major label record company or any of its affiliates, subsidiaries, or imprints. The goal of Unsigned Only is to “find an outstanding, talented performer: a band, singer, or solo artist…a newcomer or veteran…raw or polished – the ‘gem’ that needs to be discovered. Unsigned Only is looking for the total package.”

The Canadian winners include:

Read the rest of this entry »

NXNE 2015 Accepting Artist Submissions

September 18th, 2014

nxne-logoNorth by Northeast (NXNE) is now accepting artists submissions for next year’s festival, which runs June 17-21, 2015 in Toronto.

NXNE is working with Sonicbids and has also reduced the cost. Over 40 per cent of the bands that will play NXNE 2015 will come from submissions .

Read the rest of this entry »

CMW Expanding to 10 Days for 2015

September 15th, 2014

cmw-logo-2014Canadian Music Week organizers have announced that the 33rd edition of the music conference and festival will expand to 10 days and run from May 1-10, 2015. The newly expanded 10-day event will offer more music, films, comedy and a greater live music experience for festival goers, say the organizers.

CMW 2015 will also have a new conference headquarters at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel – 123 Queen St. West. Centrally located near all of Toronto’s attractions and connected to the entertainment district by way of the PATH – a 16-mile underground network of shops and services – the Sheraton offers CMW guests an ideal facility to take in seminars, networking, and receptions during our convention dates May 6 – 9, while taking advantage of preferred hotel rates. Guests must be registered delegates to access preferred rates.

Read the rest of this entry »

SOCAN Celebrates Chart-topping Quebec Members

September 12th, 2014

SOCAN QCSOCAN – the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada –celebrated a group of BDS chart-topping members at L’Assommoir Notre-Dame Restaurant, in Montreal, as part of a No.1 Award presentation ceremony attended by Quebec Culture and Communications Minister Hélène David.

At the event, more than a dozen songwriter, composer and music publisher members were feted, representing an impressive cross-section of styles and genres indicative of the depth of creative talent that Quebec currently boasts.

Read the rest of this entry »

Metalworks Sweepstakes Winner Announced

September 12th, 2014

Justin-Slaven-2014-MWI-Sweepstakes-WinnerThis past July, Metalworks Institute launched their Digital Music Production Sweepstakes in collaboration with Erikson Audio. The sweepstake, which was housed on Metalworks Institute’s Facebook Page, offered fans a chance at a prize package worth $1,750. The package included: Korg MicroKorg Limited Edition, Ableton Live 9 Intro, Novation Launchpad S, Audio Technica AT2020, one pair of KRK New Generation 3 RP5 Monitors, and one Scarlett 2i2, Focusrite Interface. On Aug. 31st the sweepstakes closed and Metalworks is happy to congratulate Justin Slaven of Scarborough, ON on winning this prize package.

Read the rest of this entry »

Full Lists of CCMA Winners

September 9th, 2014

logoThe Canadian Country Music Association Awards took place on Sunday night in Edmonton, AB. Here is the full list of the day’s winners. Congratulations to all of them as well as all the nominees. For more information, go to

Read the rest of this entry »

Slaight Music Announces “It’s Your Shot 4”

August 29th, 2014

It's Your ShotSlaight Music has announced the September 1st kickoff of the “It’s Your Shot 4” songwriting and artist development competition. The contest, which is open to all musical genres, encourages artists to submit a song and/or video to for a chance to win a Grand Prize valued at $50,000.

The “It’s Your Shot” competition is one of the many initiatives put forth by Slaight Music. Each year, Slaight Music partners with one of Canada’s major record labels to support this initiative.  The winning artist this year will receive distribution, radio promotion, publicity, and marketing support via Warner Music Canada, along with a professional photo session, a professionally written biography, the development of an artist website, social network pages, and an opportunity to perform at a high-profile musical event in 2015.

Read the rest of this entry »

Feds Renew Financial Commitment To Music

August 29th, 2014

Through the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages Shelly Glover, the Government of Canada has announced that it will invest $1.3 million in support to the independent music industry through the Canada Music Fund’s Music Entrepreneur component.

With this money, the Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA) will receive $445,000 from the Canada Music Fund’s Music Entrepreneur component during the 2014-2015 fiscal year. CIMA members Arts & Crafts and Last Gang Records will be receiving $550,000 and $374,790, respectively.

Read the rest of this entry »

Canadian Musician Associated Sites

Norris-Whitney Communications Inc.   Canadian Music Trade   Professional Lighting & Production   Professional Sound   Music Directory Canada   Music Books Plus