Canadian Musician


Unsigned Only Competition Now Accepting Entries

Tuesday, February 2nd, 2016
2015 Unsigned Grand Prize winners Jared Porter And Kaylee Bell (PRNewsFoto/Unsigned Only Music Competition)

2015 Unsigned Grand Prize winners Jared Porter And Kaylee Bell (PRNewsFoto/Unsigned Only Music Competition)

Musicians are invited to apply now for the 2016 edition of Unsigned Only, a worldwide music competition produced by the same people that produce the International Songwriting Competition (ISC). Unsigned Only is designed for solo artists, bands, and singers who are not signed to a major label record company or any of its affiliates, subsidiaries, or imprints. It’s a music competition with the stated goal of finding an outstanding, talented performer that needs to be discovered.

The Grand Prize winner will be awarded $20,000 USD in cash (plus additional prizes, to a total value of more than $100,000 USD) and one-on-one mentoring by an elite group of record company executives. First Place winners in each category will receive $1,000 USD in addition to other prizes. Second Place winners will also receive prizes. Winners for the competition will be announced in early September 2016.

Categories include AAA (Adult Album Alternative), AC (Adult Contemporary), Americana, Christian, Country, Folk/Singer-Songwriter, R&B/Hip-Hop, Rock, Pop/Top 40, Screen Shot (original songs in all genres suited for placement in film/TV/advertising/gaming); Teen (artists 18 years old or younger) and Vocal Performance. Judging criteria are originality, songwriting/arrangement, vocals, performance, and overall likeability. Unsigned Only will be accepting both original and cover songs in all categories. Entries in the Vocal Performance category will be based solely on the quality of the vocals. Unsigned Only accepts all genres of music in the Teen and Vocal Performance category.

The deadline is Mar. 16, 2016, and the cost is $30 USD per entry. (If one song is entered in two categories, it counts as two entries.)

The high-profile list of 2016 judges includes: Aimee Mann; R. City; The Killers; Bone Thugs N Harmony; The Struts; Dustin Lynch; Kelly Price; Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Aaron Shust; Rapsody; Hayes Carll; Kool and the Gang; David Crowder; Lucero; Colt Ford; The Turnpike Troubadours; Frank Foster; Kyle Anderson (Senior Writer, Entertainment Weekly); Josh Jackson (Co-Founder and Editor-In-Chief, Paste Magazine); Anthony DeCurtis (Contributing Editor, Rolling Stone); and many more.

For more information, go to


Leave a Reply


Canadian Musician Associated Sites

Norris-Whitney Communications Inc.   Canadian Music Trade   Professional Lighting & Production   Professional Sound   Music Directory Canada   Music Books Plus